Evaluation – A Clockwork Orange book jacket

Despite this being the project I struggled with most, I was happy with the outcome. I was really interested in the idea of using milk (or a substance similar) to create text but I eventually knew how long it would take and how much time and patience it would acquire to do. I wanted the final piece to look good, but I knew it wouldn’t if I stuck with the idea of milk/yoghurt to create the text.

I was pleased that I only read the book and didn’t watch the movie as I feel if I did watch it I would be heavily influenced by it which is what I didn’t want. I wanted my book cover design to be original. I knew Stanley Kubrick’s film has a lot of iconic imagery and motifs and I didn’t want that to influence my decisions. I think my final decision in the type/font use wasn’t successful as initially I wanted to be more adventurous and playful with that element.

I like the simplicity and elegance of the book cover I designed as I feel it goes with Alex’ character; aggressive and thinks of himself as sophisticated. I’m glad I chose a serif and not a script font as I felt that would take away from the design and be too distracting and over crowded against the busy background. I like how I have only used Orange, black and white and have been able to incorporate the milk cartons into the book cover inside flaps.

I would definitely like to continue this project and would love to experiment further with unconventional materials to create text/font. I would have also liked to create a poster advertising the book as well as a bookmark.

Overall, I think this has been my least succesful outcome out of all the FMP’s. I struggled alot with trying to create something I really wanted to achieve (type out of milk) but I will definitely try to do experiment further and finally make it to a standard I am happy with.

Leave a comment